Nothing much Thursday

Spent most of the day trying to get set up to take pictures of books and other things. Kept running into lighting problems. Thought I had it figured out after changing to a different kind of CF but after looking at the resulting pictures I can see that I’ll have to see about another kind of light or defuser or filter or… Will get back at it tomorrow. Or not. Depends on how I feel as to what gets done but I do plan on getting at least something accomplished be it inside or out. Will see. Till then… 😉

Tags: ,

One Response to “Nothing much Thursday”

  1. Steve Goodwin Says:

    Had a variable Thursday. Got a good bit done, but ran into some new problems also. Spent the entire day in the lab, hooking up a few of the computers and getting them going. Had some help from the students again, which really did help. They got the computers into placed and hooked up. I worked on getting them set up properly, as far as computer name, domain, etc. Went OK for a while, and then I hit a machine that was giving weird errors–something about not being able to write temp files. I also ran into a machine that I had missed cloning the hard drive on. Oops. So, I would up wiping/cloning the first one, and cloning the second one. I cut a finger putting the case back on on the first one, and bled like a stuck pig all over the place. One of those small, very active sheet metal cuts. After I finally got the bleeding stopped, I went to lunch. When I came back and got back in the lab, I went on with getting machines ready. The one that gave the disk errors is still giving them, despite a passing grade from Western Digital’s diagnostic program, so either the disk or the RAM (or possibly the motherboard) is borked–I’ll check that out when I get there. If I had thought of the RAM last night, I would have left Memtest running, but I didn’t. And another machine is doing the same thing. Maybe it’s just RAM–we’ll see.

    Well, going back to fight the wars some more. Am making progress, just have a lot of details to wrap up. Have a good one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

