Hump Day

Still down with something and doing little but reading and messing with the computer. Writing this on Debian 5.0.0 Live CD xfce with the Iceweasel web browser. Tis much faster than the Xubuntu version running on the hard drive but I’m sure part of that is the number of things not running in the background. Trying to get up the nerve to install it on the PCLOS hard drive. Still got a bunch of stuff on it that I need to archive and then I suspect I’ll wipe it and put a clean Debian install on there. But not tonight. Am gonna get a cuppa tea and go back up and read a bit longer then call it a night. So till tomorrow… 😉

Tags: ,

One Response to “Hump Day”

  1. Steve Goodwin Says:

    The daughter really got tickled about your comment on Facebook about the Debian 5.0 with the XFCE interface. I started to explain it but she said “Of COURSE you understand what he is talking about, but no one else does!” She made a comment on your page about that, and Mark came back with a comment about how he resented that, HE understood what you were talking about too!

    Finished up the day’s training (more to come today) and talked with the trainer for a while. He’s a teacher, which points out more than anything else, I believe, the difference between Apple and everyone else. I have seen former teachers as trainers for computer companies, but never an active one. And I think having a teacher train teachers how to use something in the classroom is probably the best way to do it–he/she knows what it’s actually like to use the machines in the classroom, and the viewpoint of a teacher is different from that of an administrator, and IT guy, or a salesperson. Real nice guy, got a lot of information from him, not as much as I would like, but a good bit. By that I mean I wish I could just get with him for about 4 hours or so and hit him with tech questions–he’s a system admin at his system too–and get some nuts-and-bolts things figured out. Oh, well, the main thing I want to do seems to have EXCELLENT documentation, and there is always Google…I think I mentioned the other day the OUTSTANDING (at least as far as I went into it) manual for Linux Mint. Head and shoulders above anything I have seen anywhere. Actually understandable.

    Well, I have to figure out what I’m doing about breakfast and such. Just got through taking 3 GB of stuff off of a 4 GB USB drive to clear it up to see if I can do a persistent Ubuntu install, and get some antivirus programs on there. Have some stuff going around that is VERY difficult to get off of a Windows machine, and want to see if booting to Linux and digging in from there will help. If not, I’m going to be doing a LOT of recovery/wiping/installing, I fear. Plus, having a bootable key drive could save a lot of trouble, and anyway, it would be just plain neat.

    Have a good day, and hope you get to feeling better. The daughter has had stomach/intestinal problems the last few days, the wife got up with the same about 4:30 this morning, and the son is being killed by the pollen. I’m the only healthy one here. That’s scary. Considering my health isn’t really that good anyway. Oh, well, still here for the moment…

    Like

Leave a Reply

