Rainy day

At least at times. Really poured a few times today, interspaced with sunshine just enough to make it muggy. Stayed in most of the day and took it easy to try to get the back to settle down. Am doing better and wanting to get up and do stuff but am gonna try to be good at least one more day.

Got an old computer up and running with PCLOS 2009 on it. Had Ubuntu but on it but been wanting to see how the new PCLOS was doing and so far I like it. May like it enough to switch over on this one, just gonna use the other one a while and see how it does when loaded down the way I do this one. Guess it’s called crash testing one… ๐Ÿ™‚

Put some more ram in Cat’s machine that I got for helping a guy with his computer the other day. Gets her up to a gb now. Think her other problem is the video card. Don’t think the drivers are quite there yet. May see about swapping it out for something else and see if it acts any better. Futzed around with the printer software on it too and have gotten it where I can actually print to it again. Not sure why it stopped or what I did to get it to let me again but at this point I ain’t asking questions…

Think I am gonna swap over to the other machine and see how it handles some video, so till tomorrow… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Tags: ,

One Response to “Rainy day”

  1. Steve Goodwin Says:

    It rained in Biblical amounts on my way to work yesterday morning. “White cane” rain is what I call it–a man with a white cane could tell more about what was ahead better than I could a few times yesterday. And Tuesday evening, too. I thought I saw one guy building a really big wooden boat in his backyard at one house, but it was raining so hard I couldn’t really tell. He needs to keep his animals fenced in better though, I damn near hit what looked like an ibex….a pair of them, actually…

    Had a good day. Got the last two pods of teacher computers done (“And there was much rejoicing!”). Now the student machine follies begin. And various details. Think I have Santa’s computer done, at least, I can’t think of anything else it needs. Ought to put a PCLinux or Ubuntu disk in it and boot to that before it goes, to see how it works. Thing is fast on XP, which it should be, there being very few apps on it. Nice machine–good bang for the buck.

    Well, gotta go put Santa’s old machine back together again. Pray for me–it’s a Pavilion, and I might lose my religion. Take it easy again, and have a good one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

