Popular Insect Repellent Deet Is Neurotoxic

Popular Insect Repellent Deet Is Neurotoxic

Popular Insect Repellent Deet Is Neurotoxic

ScienceDaily (Aug. 6, 2009) — The active ingredient in many insect repellents, deet, has been found to be toxic to the central nervous system. Researchers say that more investigations are urgently needed to confirm or dismiss any potential neurotoxicity to humans, especially when deet-based repellents are used in combination with other neurotoxic insecticides.

I have wondered/worried about the toxicity of DEET for years, though I have also used products that contain it while doing so. Not gonna use it any more though… 😦

Tags: ,

One Response to “Popular Insect Repellent Deet Is Neurotoxic”

  1. Steve Says:

    I have never been that wild about the stuff either. I avoid situations where I need it, usually by standing in the smoke from the fire. Actually, the smoke from whatever is burning wherever I happen to be outside seems to always follow me, so the insects usually are frustrated/choking anyway. I have learned to live with the smoke…

    Gee, I login and make a comment, and next thing I know the blog EXPLODES! Cool! Keep it up with the posts, I’ll check in as I work my way through the day’s tasks.

    Had some good coffee this am, did we? I did, from Hardee’s of all places. “Channel Islands” coffee, which (rather surprisingly) was rather good. Just didn’t work out to eat breakfast at home today….

    Like

Leave a Reply

