Still Burning

DVD’s and CD’s that is. If the figures are right (and I’m hoping they aren’t) Cat has about another 40 something hours of burning to go to get everything on the external storage drive backed up. Looking at new drives now as we are gonna have to get one anyway. Looks like it’s gonna be cheaper to get a SATA PCI card, cables and SATA drive than to get a ATA drive. And that will be a larger drive than the ATA so…

I’ve got about half of the stuff on my Ubuntu machine burned off and most of the rest of it sorted and ready but haven’t finished either. However am about to call it a night so till tomorrow… 😉

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Still Burning”

  1. Steve Goodwin Says:

    Sounds like fun. And I know what you mean about the SATA vs IDE thing. I only have one machine with native SATA, and am thinking about getting a large drive for it. Also wanting to put Linux on it, haven’t had the time/energy to do it. Been busy…

    Things still going at work–cloning Macbooks, setting up machines, various other things. Hope things go well with you all. Have a good one!

    Like

    • depatty Says:

      I haven’t tried any of the SATA PCI cards yet but since NewEgg has them for $12 and up I think I am gonna give one a spin and see how it goes. Can’t be as bad as USB for data transfer. I’m thinking about getting one with an onboard IDE port too (same price range) to see if that will increase the transfer speed by having it all onboard rather than having to go through the PCI bus. Have you had any experience with any of the above?

      Like

  2. Steve Says:

    No, I don’t, though it sounds like a good thing to try. I could get a drive and a card and put it in one of the machines and see how it goes. I know the boys has e-sata drives sitting on his desk next to his machine, and is always talking about how fast they are, so they are worth looking into.

    Like

Leave a Reply

