Been a camper shell Tuesday

But other than a few finishing touches it’s shortened, with new clear front side windows, and ready to go on the Toyota. Hoping to get it put on in the morning and then make a trip to Calcis to see how it rides prior to going to Florence this weekend. Would have finished it up this evening but I am worn out and still have supper to cook, so decided to take a break and go at it again in the morning. Cost as of now is around $40, which is more than I wanted to spend on it, but still a lot less than a new one, or even a used one, would cost. And we still have a couple of partial tubes of caulk, a half sheet of plexiglas, about a half a roll of 1 1/2″ x 3/8″ camper shell foam weatherstripping, a plastic cutter, and a bunch of fender washers. Along with other stuff I am forgetting right now I feel sure. However as I’m starting to feel less like a dishrag and more like a tired human needing food, so am gonna close this and go see about cooking something. Till tomorrow… 😉

Tags: ,

One Response to “Been a camper shell Tuesday”

  1. Steve Goodwin Says:

    Sounds cool. Of course,you documented the entire process with a time-lapse camera and will post the movie here soon? Just kidding, but now that I have broached the idea, I bet that brain of yours is (whether you want it to or not) thinking about what hardware/software you have laying around to do that with….I KNOW how you think….)

    Had a pretty good Tuesday, if somewhat non-standard. Went in and dealt with the consequences of the insane switch at the high school. Then tried to get the librarian hooked-up to an online session, and failed miserably. Then the Internet disappeared for the campus. It came back within about 20 minutes, and I contacted our ISP who said that something had gone “Boom!” in Atlanta and they had had to reroute everyone whilst it was being fixed. Went over and rebooted a switch in one of the pods at the elementary school that didn’t want to come back from fall break, and did a few other things before heading out about twelve. Went home and the daughter and I headed to Trussville for a doctor’s appointment. Got back from that around 5:30, cooked supper, and then watched TV for the rest of the evening. Science stuff–pretty cool.

    Now it’s time to do the breakfast/lunch thing. Have a good one, and really, post some pics of the camper shell. Before/after would be cool, but I’ll settle for just after.

    Gee, I wish I could work with my hands like you do…you usually get involved AFTER I work with my hands and try to recover what’s left….

    Like

Leave a Reply

